Book Reviews, Fiction
Comment 1

Book Review: Summer at Firefly Beach, by Jenny Hale

I was fortunate enough to receive a copy of Summer of Firefly Beach, by Jenny Hale! Thank you to Noelle Holten at Bookouture, and a big thank you to author, Jenny Hale.

Isn’t the cover gorgeous?!?

Title: Summer at Firefly Beach

Publication Day: June 17, 2019   

Author:  Jenny Hale

Where to Purchase:

Amazon: https://geni.us/B07R95SVPCSocial

Apple Books: https://apple.co/2HdIdBa.

Kobo: https://bit.ly/2HgBNkR

Googleplay: http://bit.ly/2Vy7pwk

Synopsis from the publisher:

An emotional and gripping page-turner from the bestselling author of The Summer House about the importance of family, rediscovering who you are, and the magic of finding true love under the summer sun. Perfect for fans of Mary Alice Monroe, Nancy Thayer and Susan Mallery.

Hallie Flynn’s favorite place in the world is her great Aunt Clara’s beautiful beachside house, with its inviting wraparound porch and enchanting views across the sparkling turquoise ocean. For Hallie, going to Firefly Beach, filled with magical memories, feels like coming home, but in one moment Hallie is left broken-hearted when her adored Aunt Clara passes away…

As always, Aunt Clara has thought of everything. In her last letter to Hallie, she included the bucket list Hallie wrote as a child and implored Hallie to complete the list. Leaving her dead-end job and predictable schedule, Hallie returns to Firefly beach and embraces Aunt Clara’s words. Through it all her childhood best friend, Ben Murray, with his golden charm and infuriating ability to be right all the time, is by her side.

Spending the summer with Ben, as they enjoy drinks on the pier and endless talks stretched out in the soft sand, Hallie begins to remember the things that matter most to her. But following the bucket list isn’t an easy journey. It forces her to face the pain of her past as she starts to fall for the person who has been there for her all along…

Just as her heart is healing, an encounter with a newcomer to the beach town, wealthy and talented photographer Gavin Wilson, leaves her questioning her future and shows her she has to make a difficult decision that could mean losing everything.

Will Hallie be able to fulfill Aunt Clara’s last wish? Or will a secret she’s been keeping destroy her new beginning—and the chance to experience true love?

I read Summer at Firefly Beach on an airplane Memorial Day weekend. A perfect read to kick off summer!

My thoughts:

This was such an enjoyable read. Hallie is a thoroughly likable character, and wholly worth rooting for. She has seen her share of grief in the previous few months, and I found myself just wanting her to have her happy ending. There were moments when I wanted to scream at her to JUST SAY IT OUT LOUD…TAKE THE RISK! But that’s not always life, right?We hold back out of fear and past heartaches.

The entire family is warm and cozy, and the atmosphere oozes comfort. Aunt Clara, although she has passed away, is still very much present. Even after her death, she is trying to support her loved ones, encourage them to make amends, repair relationships, and offer grace and forgiveness.

Summer at Firefly Beach was a fun summer read, capturing the feeling of sweet memories of time spent with friends and family on long summer days. It’s the feeling of wrapping myself up with a fuzzy blanket and settling on the couch to watch a Hallmark Christmas movie with my daughter in December. It’s heartwarming and sweet, and I smile when I think about it. What could be better than that?

From the author, about the author:

When I graduated college, one of my friends said, “Look out for this one; she’s going to be an author one day.” Despite being an avid reader and a natural storyteller, it wasn’t until that very moment that the idea of writing novels occurred to me.

Sometimes our friends can see the things that we can’t.

While I didn’t start straight away, that comment sowed a seed and several years, two children, and hundreds of thousands of words later, I completed a novel that I felt was worthy of publication. The result was Coming Home for Christmas, a heart-warming story about the magic of love at Christmas, and 2017 TV movie on The Hallmark Channel. 

The rest is history. 

When I’m not writing, I’m a mother of two boys and a wife to a very supportive husband.

Author Social Media Links:

Website: https://www.itsjennyhale.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/jennyhaleauthor/

Twitter:  https://twitter.com/jhaleauthor

Follow along on the Book Tour! I’m listed as Sarah’s Book Reviews, but it really is me! 🙂

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s